Dear Municipal Clerk,

The current term for the Joint Elgin, Essex and Chatham-Kent seat on the Thames-Sydenham & Region Source Protection Committee is set to expire on June 1st, 2021. As such we are contacting you to initiate the appointment process for this seat which will ente r into a new 4 year term that will begin on June 1, 2021 and expire on June 1st, 2025.

The Clean Water Act regulations require that the seats on the Source Protection Committee come up for re-appointment on a scheduled basis, which has been determined to be every 4 years. This appointment process requires Elgin, Essex and Chatham-Kent to nominate someone for the seat. The municipalities represented by this seat may choose to jointly nominate one name for the seat, or they may each wish to put a name forward. If more than one name is submitted the Source Protection Authorities (the Conservation Authorities by way of a Striking Committee) will interview candidates and determine which candidate will be offered a seat on the Source Protection Committee. If only one candidate is nominate by all representing municipalities then that individual will be directly appointed.

The Source Protection Committee member who is in the seat currently is Brent Clutterbuck from the Township of Southwold. Mr. Clutterbuck would be interested in serving another term on the Source Protection Committee should the represented municipalities choose to reappoint him.

At your earliest convince please notify me in regards to who the municipality would like to nominate for this seat.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,

Jenna

Jenna Allain, M.Sc.

Source Protection Coordinator

Thames-Sydenham and Region Drinking Water Source Protection

