THE TOWN OF COCHRANE

171 Fourth Avenue Cochrane, Ontario, Canada, POL 1CO T: 705-272-4361 | F: 705-272-6068 E: townhall@cochraneontario.com





"Via Email: premier@ontario.ca

March 29, 2021

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Premier Ford:

Re: MeeQuam Youth Residence Closure

This will serve to advise you that Council, at its regular meeting held Tuesday, March 23rd, 2021, passed the following resolution:

"Resolution No. 83-2021 Moved By: Todd Calaiezzi

Seconded By: Robert Hutchinson

WHEREAS the Ontario Government announced the closure of 26 youth justice facilities; and

WHEREAS the MeeQuam Youth Residence in Cochrane is one of the facilities that will be closing effective April 30; and

WHEREAS children aged 12 to 17 from the northeastern communities will be impacted by this closure. These are children who have increased needs yet limited access to much needed set of services and support that assist them with their transition to productive and flourishing adulthood; and

WHEREAS with the closure of the MeeQuam Youth Residence, these vulnerable children will find themselves in a facility hundreds and thousands of kilometers away from their community and their families; and



THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Cochrane requests that the Province of Ontario reverse their decision to close the youth justice facility in Cochrane, known as MeeQuam Youth Residence, as these vulnerable children need to be as close as possible to their families and communities.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT this Resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, the Honourable Todd Smith, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services; Honourable Sylvia Jones, Minister of Indigenous Affairs; and all municipalities within the Province of Ontario.

Carried"

Your attention to this matter is greatly appreciated!

Yours Truly,

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COCHRANE

Alice Mercier

Clerk

/am

c.c.: Hon. Todd Smith, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services Hon. Sylvia Jones, Minister of Indigenous Affairs All Municipalities within the Province of Ontario Charlie Angus, MP, Timmins – James Bay John Vanthof, MPP, Timiskaming – Cochrane